Uncommon Sense


Minority MP Law
January 24, 2009, 8:34 am
Filed under: British Politics

For more info on the background of this law, check out The Guardian article.  Basically, the Labour Government was going to pass a law forcing shortlists of minorities to be listed on the ballot from which party leaders choose who will run for election. It is important to remember that in the UK, party unity is key and the party controls a lot more than parties in the US do – like who will actually run for election.

According to this law, the lists would be made up solely of minorities as ethnic minorities are seriously underrepresented in Parliament.

But, the Government had shelved this law because of a backlash from white voters.

Gotta love how the Brits just come out and say things – a headline like that would never work in the US.

Now, my thoughts.

The Labour government’s solution to this problem – that plagues the US too – is an interesting one, like affirmative action for MP elections.

It’s an interesting solution, but it’s approaching the issue in the wrong way.  The parties should select the candidates that best suit their needs and the needs of the constituents.  These candidates should be the most qualified to achieve these goals and should be representative of their constituents (mind you there is no residency qualification for MPs in Parliament as there is in the US for our Congressmen).

Obviously something needs to be done to combat this problem – there should be about 60 ethnic minorities in Commons and there are only 15.  But this is not the solution.  I’m glad that Labour shelved it, even if it was because they were worried about a backlash.



London Update 5
January 24, 2009, 5:31 am
Filed under: London

Cheers!

When we left off, your favorite politico abroad was just out of class, starting her Wednesday.

Wednesday afternoon was full of homework and grocery shopping – very similar to real college life back in Boston.  After a major twitter deliberation about what to eat for dinner, Markey and I ended up just sharing the alfredo (aka – going to have a heart attack and major life problems after eating) that Aureila, Nicole, and Alice made.

Wednesday night we headed out to Imperial for half-price rugby night.  After two drinks and paying a cover, still only 5 pounds (!!) we headed back to the kitchen of our flat for some reverse pre-gaming, I guess you could say.  There was vodka and wine all around.  Mike regaled us with the marvelous snow boots – extremely annoying as he walked down the hall.  Marnie slipped their flat’s kitchen code to me.  For those that don’t know, the kitchen code is extremely secret and very protectively guarded by all in a flat.  Hmm… not anymore 8620!  Andrew and I picked out a couch for their room from Argos.  We devoured another pint of ice cream – this one was chocolate cookie dough!  Marnie’s friend Vanessa came to visit from Paris by way of Parsons School of Design (that’s the one on Project Runway!).  And in the morning, Sophie told me that we had a lengthy coversation – of which I remember none of.

Stayed up late Wednesday night talking online – probably not such a great idea considering I had class Thursday, but it was definitely fun and well-worth being a bit groggy the next morning.

Thursday Markey and I slept forever.  Class was from 1:15 until a little past 3 – he let us out early.  We had Prof Sullivan doing political theory and the constitutional underpinnings of British government.  Pretty interesting, but I was really out of it.

Thursday night Markey and I made pesto chicken – it was amazing.  Then me, Andrew, Mike, Lucia, Marnie, and Vanessa went to the Comedy Tree at the Walkabout Pub in Putney for a night of cheap but very good comedy.  The MC was great.  The first guy was Canadian – it was so refreshing.  The Irish girl was pretty bad, the old English guy after her was the best.  The headliner was ok I guess, but I thought he was creepy – mostly because he kept staring at me.  Gross!

Thursday night our internet crashed, so we all feel asleep at a reasonable hour.

Friday, none of us had class – although Marnie and Andrew had their interviews, Marnie’s didn’t go so well, Andrew’s went really well.  Markey and I slept for a long time.  10 hours – the most sleep I’ve ever gotten while here!  We woke up and went to Harrods to check out their big sale that ends this weekend.  Sucky.  When clothes are 75% off and they’re still $200, you know you went to the wrong store.   We refueled at Costa with lovely “sit down” coffee and tea, chatting about life – more specifically about our prom dresses, guys, and wedding ideas – we’re girls, that’s just how it works!  Then we headed off to the Victoria and Albert museum, which is only a couple of blocks away from the Crofton.  It was absolutely amazing.  Our favorite exhibit was the medieval stone work from churches.

Friday night Markey, Andrew, Mike, Mark, and I ventured off to Notting Hill for dinner and pubbing.  We had a cheap but very good dinner at a little cafe place.  Then off to our favorite spot for some pints.  Andrew and Mike have now been formally initiated into our secret society!  After the pints, we headed back to the Crofton around 10:30 to hang out with everyone else.  Andrew made pasta for us all, Markey poured the wine, and I mixed the drinks.  I also proceeded to spill almost everything!  Ha, but I know their kitchen code!  Marnie and Vanessa got some delicious treats by London Bridge that they shared with the rest of us.  I ate almost all of Andrew’s “Shreddies” – like Crispex cereal, but with more cardboard flavor – much to his pleasure.  And Mark drew all over my hands – fun times, “Now it looks like you’re 17 and tried to get into 2 British clubs!”.

Things to look forward to:

Today- most of the flatmates are going on a trip – they already left (it’s (9:30ish right now).  Markey, Tulsi, and I are going back to Notting Hill because the Portobello Road Market is today and the fresh fruit and veg (that’s for you Mark) along with the good deals on clothes will be very nice!  Tonight, we’re going out, obviously, I don’t know where though – probably not Imperial.  Maybe we’ll venture into the city.

Tomorrow- Markey and I are doing our part of the paperchase to win a helicopter ride over London.  Then it’s laundry, grocery shopping, and homework.

Monday- We have class.  Monday is also Australia Day, so we’re heading back to the WalkAbout to participate in the Aussie fun.

The rest of the week, well that remains to be seen.



New Leona Lewis (With Chance Crawford!)
January 24, 2009, 5:06 am
Filed under: Life

The vid:

The lyrics:

There’s nothing I could say to you 
Nothing I could ever do to make you see 
What you mean to me 

All the pain, the tears I cried 
Still you never said 
goodbye and now I know 
How far you’d go 

[Bridge:] 
I know I let you down 
But it’s not like that now 
This time I’ll never let you go 

[Chorus:] 
I will be, all that you want 
And get myself together 
Cause you keep me from falling apart 

All my life, I’ll be with you forever 
To get you through the day 
And make everything okay 

[Verse 2:] 
I thought that I had everything 
I didn’t know what life could bring 
But now I see, honestly 

You’re the one thing I got right 
The only one I let inside 
Now I can breathe, cause 
you’re here with me 

[Bridge:] 
[ Find more Lyrics at www.mp3lyrics.org/ar8 ]
And if I let you down 
I’ll turn it all around 
Cause I would never let you go 

[Chorus:] 
I will be, all that you want 
And get myself together 
Cause you keep me from falling apart 

All my life, I’ll be with you forever 
To get you through the day 
And make everything okay 

[Ending bridge:] 
Without you I cant breathe, 
I’m not gonna ever, ever let you leave 
You’re all I’ve got, you’re all I want 
Yeah 

And without you I don’t know what I’d do 
I can never, ever live a day without you 
Here with me, do you see, 
You’re all I need 

[Chorus:] 
And I will be, all that you want 
And get myself together 
Cause you keep me from falling apart 

All my life (my life), I’ll 
be with you forever 
To get you through the day 
And make everything okay 

[Chorus:] 
I will be (I’ll be), all that you want 
And get myself together 
Cause you keep me from falling apart 

And all my life, you know I’ll 
be with you forever 
To get you through the day 
And make everything okay



PS22 Faves
January 24, 2009, 4:59 am
Filed under: Life

The PS22 Chorus became a new favorite youtube channel to check out.  Here’s something new from them:



Barack and Single Ladies?
January 24, 2009, 4:55 am
Filed under: President Obama

Our filtering system has shut off videos right now – so I’m putting this here for safe keeping:



Inauguration Tweets
January 24, 2009, 4:51 am
Filed under: Election 2008, President Obama

Cool